praise for TLTLG

* “Smith’s deeply felt sophomore effort (following The Way I Used to Be, 2016) explores the rippling effects of domestic violence and its ability to carry through generations. . . Vivid characterizations of the extended family Brooke gets to know, along with others who people her first year on her own, bring the story to life.”

– Booklist (STARRED REVIEW)


* “Smith illustrates the unraveling of a complex web of abuse . . . realistic and heartbreaking . . . The Last to Let Go shows the cycle [of abuse] in every heart-wrenching detail, making the reader much more aware.”

– VOYA (STARRED REVIEW)


“Smith will take readers’ breaths away with every vivid sentence of her sophomore novel . . . Smith boldly explores this very serious, very real topic through beautiful, captivating prose.”

– RT Book Reviews (TOP PICK!)


“Smith shows great skill in navigating such a serious issue with both sensitivity and realistic outcomes. VERDICT: A well-crafted and honest look at family issues and a good pick for fans of Sara Zarr and Laurie Halse Anderson. Highly recommended.”

– School Library Journal


“Smith (The Way I Used to Be) takes up domestic violence and its far-reaching consequences in this empathetic novel… But Smith never sugarcoats Brooke’s life; she’s forced to make peace with her new reality, one that readers must accept alongside her in this difficult, honest novel.”

– Publishers Weekly


“Complex and nuanced.”

– B&N Teen Blog