praise for TLTLG

The Last to Let Go is a deeply touching, heart-rending look at lives caught in the trap of domestic violence. I can’t recommend this book highly enough.”

– Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl In Pieces


* “Smith’s deeply felt sophomore effort (following The Way I Used to Be, 2016) explores the rippling effects of domestic violence and its ability to carry through generations. . . Vivid characterizations of the extended family Brooke gets to know, along with others who people her first year on her own, bring the story to life.”

– Booklist (STARRED REVIEW)


* “Heartwrenching.”

– VOYA (STARRED REVIEW)


“Smith will take readers’ breaths away with every vivid sentence of her sophomore novel . . . [she] boldly explores this very serious, very real topic through beautiful, captivating prose.”

– RT Book Reviews (TOP PICK!)


“Smith shows great skill in navigating such a serious issue with both sensitivity and realistic outcomes. VERDICT: A well-crafted and honest look at family issues and a good pick for fans of Sara Zarr and Laurie Halse Anderson. Highly recommended.”

– School Library Journal


“[A] difficult, honest novel.”

– Publishers Weekly


“Complex and nuanced.”

– B&N Teen Blog


“This emotionally charged story is a pitch-perfect portrait of complicated families.”

– THE CHILDREN’S BOOK REVIEW


“This poignant novel shows the many and long-reaching effects of domestic violence.”

– The News & Observer


“[A] sensitive yet unflinching examination of domestic abuse and the long lasting effects it can have on a family.”

– THE MARY SUE


“A coming of age story with a haunting twist, this book tells the hopeful story of a brave young girl’s journey to self-acceptance.”

 – HYPABLE